Author Topic: Pen y Bryn Uchaf  (Read 5545 times)

Offline robbo

Pen y Bryn Uchaf
« on: September 30, 2013, 12:45:09 pm »
Hi I am trying to find as much history as possible on Pen y Bryn Uchaf located just outside Bryn Y Maen its now known as Pen y Bryn Lodge. I know the farm was here in approx 1840 as I can find it on OS maps from that time. I am unsure if it is the house that is curently hear though, but I suspect it is.

here is a link to the oldest map I can find with refrence to it, its in the bottom left hand corner.

http://www.davidrumsey.com/luna/servlet/detail/RUMSEY~8~1~249326~5516574:79---Denbigh,-NW-Quad-

As I have never done this before any help/advice is greatly appreciate.

Offline Hugo

• Management board member
Re: Pen y Bryn Uchaf
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2013, 03:07:47 pm »
I don't know anything about the history of the place but if it's the one I am thinking of, the farm is midway between Bryn Y Maen and upper Colwyn Bay.
The road is particularly narrow with a bad bend just in front of the farm building.
A farmer called Robert Roberts ran it in the 60's I think and had two daughters Shelagh and Roberta. He left the farm many years ago.

When I went past it last time there was a name plate of Srawberry Mill on the wall so perhaps it has been divided into two properties.

Offline robbo

« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2013, 03:31:27 pm »
Hi Hugo thanks for the reply, Yes its been split into two properties and the farm itself was split up many years before that. The property Strawberry Mill is a mixture of old and new buildings and has recently been extended again.