Author Topic: Old Public Houses in Bryn Pydew  (Read 49468 times)

Offline Hugo

• Management board member
Re: Old Public Houses in Bryn Pydew
« Reply #75 on: December 17, 2015, 11:39:09 am »
I was sorry to about your father squiggle but hope that he and your mother are enjoying the countryside in Norfolk.   Skerryvore has sparked off some distant and rather vague memories for me as I remember my father talking about and visiting our relatives in Pydew. They were the Williams of Ffrith Farm and the Jones' of Cae Cwnws but he often talked about Skerryvore and I think he knew the owners there and this must have been in the 1970's when I was looking at properties in Pydew.
My father was Norman Hughes and was a builder by trade but sadly died in 1986 when aged just 61

I've copied a snippet for you about St Catherine's Church in the village
"Until 1945, worshippers had either to go to the Welsh Chapel in Bryn Pydew, or walk down the footpath to the ancient Parish Church of St. Cystennin's at Llangystennin. Morning Service was in English; Evening Service in Welsh. However, in May 1945, a group of worshippers decided they would take over a Western Command Army nissen hut in Bryn Pydew. Two days after V.E. Day on May 8th, 1945, a first service was held in the home of Mr and Mrs Alf Potts at Skerrymore, Bryn Pydew. Weeks later they all moved to the army" huts, with children meeting for Sunday School in one of them

Offline squiggle

« Reply #76 on: December 17, 2015, 02:33:43 pm »
I didn't know the origins of St. Catherine's Church, Hugo, thanks.

As far as I can work things out, Skerryvore would have had 3 owners in the 70s.