Author Topic: John Owen Coxswain Theodore Price RNLIB  (Read 13481 times)

Offline jom

John Owen Coxswain Theodore Price RNLIB
« on: August 31, 2013, 12:24:07 am »
I'm afraid this topic was struck by spam so removed but have an update from the RNLI.  There would appear to have been only one John Owen which would be why the article showed him as 5th in command of the Thomas and Annie Wade Richards wearing his bronze medal.  This was earned in 1919 as coxswain of the Theodore Price.

John was born 17 Feb 1865 and became bowman Jan 1905.  He attained 2nd Coxsawin 1 Oct 1907 and 1st Coxswain 1 Jan 1918.  He retired at the age of 62 on 31 Mar 1930 and died 29 Dec 1951.  He was a painter by trade.

This means he was not my 2 G Uncle but with more research to perform, I suspect he was the son of Robert and Catherine Owen.  This links to a previous thread re another John Owen, as Robert I believe, was the son of John and Alice Owen of the Prince of Wales.  John of the Prince of Wales being my 4 G Grandfather.  SO, it would seem he is likely to be of my tree ... yet to be confirmed.  Many thanks to Dave (you know who you are) and Hugo.  This may well have solved a VERY long standing mystery.  Just a shame my Dad isn't around to be able to tell him my thoughts!

Offline Hugo

• Management board member
Re: John Owen Coxswain Theodore Price RNLIB
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2013, 09:43:21 am »
Hi Jom, pleased to see your posting back again.  I was in the Archives this week and had a quick look at bits about the RNLI in Llandudno.
What I have found differs a bit from your latest posting as the report I read said that John Owen took over as 2nd Coxswain in 1904.   He then became Coxswain in Jan 1918 as you say and was awarded the Bronze medal by RNLI for his rescue of the crew of the "Ada Mary" on 27th March 1919.
Now I think that there were two John Owens, the above who served on the Theodore Price and the other one who served on The Thomas and Anne Wade Richards.