Author Topic: Thinking of moving to the area...  (Read 86389 times)

Offline daisy

Re: Thinking of moving to the area...
« Reply #120 on: April 10, 2017, 01:38:28 pm »
Bosun / Ian,
I think you have to draw a distinction between the age groups.

Yeh its bit funny for me, being 36 with no kids, because I'm too old for clubbing/etc, but too young for bowls, bridge and church haha. Hope to find the middle ground somewhere!

I started playing Bridge at 16, played competitively from around 24, and still play whenever I can with the boys and their better halves. It's not an age thing; it is an intellect thing, because - like chess - it requires intelligence and memory, coupled with a sound tactical awareness and an ability to keep score, plus the bonus is that it's intensely social. Church - well, you might have a point there. But in the long run, social means exactly that: making friends and meeting other people. The organisations I identified are merely vehicles to reach the goal.
Yes you are entirely right! Church itself is definitely a no go for me as I am an atheist, though I wouldn't discount being friends with people purely because they are religious and I'm not, I do have some religious friends that I share other interests with and I'm a very diversity welcoming kind of person.

I have never played bridge so might like it, I do like poker and board games. Really I am just looking for things/people that have similar interest in being social and community orientated so that I can make some friends there :) and a little nervous about moving areas as that's always challenging but hopefully worth it in the long run!

Offline SteveH

• Management Board Member & Newsgroup Editor
« Reply #121 on: April 10, 2017, 01:40:13 pm »
It's not an age thing; it is an intellect thing, because - like chess - it requires intelligence and memory, coupled with a sound tactical awareness and an ability to keep score,

That's me out then.     :(      ;)

Offline Fester

• Ad Free Member.