Author Topic: Obstacles to Tourism in Llandudno  (Read 137547 times)

craigollerton

Re: Obstacles to Tourism in Llandudno
« Reply #300 on: August 13, 2014, 02:32:59 pm »
Being critical now, but hopefully constructive!!!

When I used to go to the local camera club the "judges" often dismissed photos which featured a closed gate, saying the gate should be open to allow you through into the picture.  I think the same here, accepting there is a stile, but it does give the impression of having to climb over a fence to get to where you want to go.  Perhaps a half-open gate would be better?

Having got the visitors into Wales we need to sort out the many eyesores so they can appreciate the real beauty of the area properly - but that's another agument!

$good$

Hi DVT, I accept your views. As with anything in design, it is all very subjective and as a designer I take criticism on the chin all the time. I have several renditions of that particular design, these are only possible outcomes and I always take the view that anything can be refined or improved further. For me partially blocking the scene with a style as opposed to an open gate was to suggest the idea of stepping over and into the scene. The style from the Brecons was juxtaposed with the A5 past Betws-y-Coed capturing two thought pathways, one of scenic travel through Wales and one of walks in Wales or using transportation as means of getting there, effectively hitting two birds with one stone.

On the point you make above, another more tangible design concept below of the other poster with the windbreak closed doesn't work quite the same as the wooden style as the style has slats giving partial view through.

Couldn't agree more about your last argument, so many eyesores in Wales now. Don't get me started on the pavilion  _))*

Copyright (C) Craig Ollerton.
Design concept, Arrivals, Holyhead Station Platform.

Copyright (C) Craig Ollerton.
Collage, sketchbook work leading to design concepts.

Offline born2run